Pro Bono Excellence Awards

The State Bar’s Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee is seeking nominations for the 2019 Pro Bono Excellence Awards. These awards recognize dedicated members of our legal profession who are committed to providing legal services to the poor in Texas. Nominations must be submitted by 5 p.m. on February 22, 2019. Recipients of the Pro Bono Excellence Awards will be notified in May. These awards will be presented at the State Bar Annual Meeting in Austin in June. To see a list of previous award winners, click here.

Each attorney nominee must be a member in good standing with the State Bar of Texas. Additional materials such as news stories, magazine articles, or documents may be included with an Award Nomination Form. Please limit each nomination to 10 pages, including supporting materials.


Frank J. Scurlock Award

J. Chrys Dougherty Legal Services Award

Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Judge Award

Pro Bono Award

Pro Bono Coordinator Award

W. Frank Newton Award 

Pro Bono Support Staff Award

Please send your nomination packet to:

For more information about these awards, contact the Legal Access Division at or 800-204-2222, ext. 1855.

The Texas Access to Justice Commission also recognizes exceptional pro bono service. Please visit the Texas Access to Justice Commission website to learn about its awards program.