Past Presidents

Laura Gibson
(August 24, 1960 - )

Laura Gibson
State Bar President, 2022-2023

Gibson is a Houston-based partner in Dentons, where she serves as office managing partner and head of the Texas Employment & Labor Group. She earned her J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center in December 1984 and joined Locke Lord in 1985. Gibson made partner in the firm in 1992. In 1993, she co-founded a four-lawyer firm last known as Ogden, Gibson, Broocks, Longoria & Hall, where she practiced until 2016.

Gibson was 2018-2019 chair of the State Bar Board of Directors. She was a director for District 4 from 2012 to 2015, where she chaired the Administration Committee from 2016 to 2020, and served on numerous committees, including the Executive Committee and Nominations and Elections Subcommittee. Gibson is a past co-chair of the Texas Minority Counsel Program Steering Committee.

She served as 2011-2012 president of the Association of Women Attorneys and founded the Premier Women in Law luncheon during her term. Gibson served as 2015-2016 president of the Houston Bar Association. In 2013, she received the Trailblazer Outside Counsel Award from the Texas Minority Counsel Program for her commitment to diversity in the legal profession. In early June 2020, she founded the Liberty & Justice for All Task Force. In October 2023, Gibson was named as one of two finalists for the Texas Minority Counsel Program Lifetime Achievement Award. 


We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree