Past Presidents


(February 20, 1953 - )

State Bar President, 2003-2004

Betsy Whitaker is a sole practitioner in Dallas. She received her B.A. magna cum laude from Wheaton College in 1975 and J.D. cum laude from Southern Methodist University School of Law in 1980. One of her initiatives as State Bar President was an overhaul of the State Bar website.

Whitaker served as chair of the State Bar Board of Directors during 1998-1999 and is a past chair of the State Bar CLE Committee. She is a member of the Dallas Bar Association. Whitaker serves on the State of Texas Lottery Commission. She is a trustee of the Center for American and International Law and a member of the American Law Institute. Whitaker served on the executive committee of the SMU School of Law and was a barrister in the Patrick E. Higginbotham American Inns of Court from 1997 to 2000. She has been a member of the Leadership Dallas Alumni Association.


We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree