2014-2015 Elections - TYLA Candidates


If you prefer to vote via a paper ballot, election packets were mailed on April 1, 2014 and may take five (5) to seven (7) days for delivery. Complete your ballot and return it in the postage paid envelope provided.  If you have not received your paper ballot by U.S. mail by April 9, 2014, please call 1-800-218-4026 for assistance Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CT.

The deadline to cast your vote is April 30, 2014 at 5:00 pm. Votes must be received either online or at the designated U.S. Postal address no later than that date and time.

Third Party Service Providers – VR Election Services, Inc. is the State Bar of Texas’ contracted service provider for election services. The secure website URL listed above is owned by VR Election Services and is not a phishing scam or illegitimate website. For more information about third party service providers used by the State Bar, click here.

The Texas Young Lawyers Association Board of Directors approved the nominations of Amber James of Odessa and C. Barrett Thomas of Sweetwater as 2014-2015 president-elect candidates. This year, nominees for president-elect are from small towns. Biographies of the candidates, in alphabetical order, are included here.

Amber James

James is a shareholder in the firm of Atkins, Hollmann, Jones, Peacock, Lewis, & Lyon in Odessa, where she maintains a commercial litigation practice. Prior to joining the firm, she practiced civil litigation with Sprott, Rigby, Newsom, Robbins, & Lunceford in Houston.

As a TYLA director, James serves as vice chair of the Low Income Texas and Community Education, Law Student Outreach, and Diversity committees. She previously served on the Law Practice Management Committee of the State Bar and was a member of LeadershipSBOT in 2011-2012. James is currently serving a second term as vice president of the Ector County Young Lawyers Association and previously served as social chair and vice president of the Ector County Bar Association. In 2012, Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas awarded James the Spirit of Dedication Award for her commitment to pro bono legal services.

James earned a B.S. and M.Ed. from the University of Texas at Austin and a J.D. from Texas Tech University School of Law. She was born and raised in Nederland, near Beaumont.

View James' campaign brochure

C. Barrett Thomas

Thomas is a felony prosecutor in the 32nd Judicial District and practices family law in Sweetwater and Abilene.

Thomas has been a TYLA director since 2011, serving most recently on the Executive Committee. He is a Texas delegate to the American Bar Association; executive adviser to the Local Affiliates and Law Student Outreach committees of TYLA; has chaired the Community Education Committee; and served on the Budget, Law Focused Education, and Member Services committees, among others. He is the creator and co-author of the project Remaining Civil, which is taught at police academies across the state.

Thomas previously served as treasurer and president of the Abilene Young Lawyers Association. He is the current president of the West Central Children’s Advocacy Center of Texas and volunteers with Project Read and as a police academy instructor and reserve deputy.

Thomas earned a J.D. from Texas Tech University School of Law, an M.C.J. from Tarleton State University, a B.B.S. from Hardin-Simmons University, and holds a Master Peace Officer certificate from T.C.O.L.E.

View Thomas' campaign brochure

{Election Home}

Article Options