Movers and Shakers

For more information or to submit a listing, go to or email


Karen L. Johnson, previously with the Texas Education Agency, is now of counsel to, and Ryan Lione, previously with the Fowler Law Firm, and Trevor B. Hall, previously with the Hall Law Firm, are now senior associates of Powell, Youngblood & Taylor, 108 Wild Basin Rd., Ste. 100, Austin 78746.

Stephen Burbank and Ross Sutherland are now associates of Scott Douglass & McConnico, 303 Colorado St., Ste. 2400, Austin 78701.

Geoffrey Puryear, previously with the Travis County District Attorney’s Office, is now presiding judge of the 460th Criminal District Court, 509 W. 11 St., 7th Fl., Austin 78701.


Kevin Rhyne, previously with the Rhyne Law Firm, is now a senior associate of Powell, Youngblood & Taylor, 1001 E. SE Loop 323, Ste. 450, Tyler 75701.


David J. Beck, of Beck Redden in Houston, was appointed chair of the Texas Commission on Judicial Selection.

Kem Thompson Frost, of the 14th Court of Appeals in Houston, was named the 2019 Outstanding Texas Leader and inducted into the Texas Leadership Hall of Fame by the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Institute at the University of Texas Permian Basin.

Diane St. Yves, a Houston-based attorney, was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers.

Robin Raasch, previously with Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, is now an associate of Baker Botts, 910 Louisiana St., Ste. 3200, Houston 77002.

Salma Charania, previously with Sprott Newsom Quattlebaum Messenger, is now an associate of Powell, Youngblood & Taylor, 7322 SW Fwy., Ste. 1900, Houston 77074.

Robert H. Ford is now a partner in Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, JPMorgan Chase Tower, 600 Travis St., Ste. 4800, Houston 77002. Saira S. Siddiqui, Melissa Broussard Carroll, Rebecca A. Muff, and Sydney M. Warren are now associates of the firm.

Alisa Hoggatt, previously with Rapp & Krock, is now founding attorney of the Hoggatt Law Firm, 2600 S. Shore Blvd., Ste. 300, League City 77573.

Chevazz Brown, of Jackson Walker in Houston, received the TMCP Trailblazer of the Year Award from the State Bar of Texas Office of Minority Affairs and the Texas Minority Counsel Program Steering Committee. Lindsey C. Moorhead, also with the firm, received the Young Alumni Award from South Texas College of Law Houston.

Davis Bradford and Fred T. Johnson are now partners in Spencer Fane, 3040 Post Oak Blvd., Ste. 1300, Houston 77056.

Jen Cafferty Patton is now chief legal talent officer at Foley & Lardner, 1000 Louisiana St., Ste. 2000, Houston 77002.

Samuel C. Peca is now a partner in Weil, Gotshal & Manges, 700 Louisiana St., Ste. 1700, Houston 77002. Melissa Hotze and Justin Constant are now counsel to the firm.

Marilyn Maloney, of Liskow & Lewis in Houston, was elected as 2020 president of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers.

Daniel P. LeFort is now of counsel to Kean Miller, Pennzoil South Tower, 711 Louisiana St., Ste. 1900, Houston 77002.


Vynessa Nemunaitis is now a partner in Weil, Gotshal & Manges, 200 Crescent Ct., Ste. 300, Dallas 75201. Amanda Pennington Prugh, Alex Farr, and Nathan D. White are now counsel to the firm.

Joel Bannister, previously with McGuireWoods, is now a partner in Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton, 2200 Ross Ave., 24th Fl., Dallas 75201.

Philip Romero, previously with Downs • Stanford, is now a shareholder in Vincent Serafino Geary Waddell Jenevein, 1601 Elm St., Ste. 4100, Dallas 75201.

Daniel A. Lewis and Thomas Ashworth are now partners in the newly formed Lewis & Ashworth, 900 Jackson St., Ste. 440, Dallas 75202.

Jennifer R. Else, previously with the Wright Firm, is now an associate of Lewis & Passons, 509 S. Carroll Blvd., Ste. A, Denton 76201.

Taylor Brinkman, Brendan Gaffney, and Joe Unis are now partners in Locke Lord, 2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 2800, Dallas 75201.

Jeff Cody is now U.S. managing partner in Norton Rose Fulbright, 2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 3600, Dallas 75201.

Milan Markovic, of Crowe & Dunlevy in Dallas, was named a Presidential Impact Fellow of Texas A&M University.

Chauncey M. Lane is now a partner in Reed Smith, 2501 N. Harwood St., Ste. 1700, Dallas 75201.

John G. Browning is now a partner in and Ryan G. Cole is now of counsel to Spencer Fane, 5700 Granite Pkwy., Ste. 650, Plano 75024.

Alexander Antonio and Tri Truong are now associates of Munck Wilson Mandala, 600 Banner Place Tower, 12770 Coit Rd., Dallas 75251.

Phyllis Young, previously with Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, is now a partner in McGuireWoods, 2000 McKinney Ave., Ste. 1400, Dallas 75201 and JPMorgan Chase Tower, 600 Travis St., Ste. 7500, Houston 77002.

Katherine “Kate” Kim, previously with the Dove Firm, is now founding attorney of the Law Office of Katherine Kim, 955 W. John Carpenter Fwy., Ste. 100-807, Irving 75039A and 12222 Merit Dr., Ste. 1200, Dallas 75251.

Jenn Cooley, previously with Tekin & Associates, is now counsel to Vinson & Elkins, Trammell Crow Center, 2001 Ross Ave., Ste. 3900, Dallas 75201.

Clinton D. Howie is now a partner in Stacy | Conder | Allen, 901 Main St., Ste. 6200, Dallas 75202.

Brooke Hubbard is now an associate of Cantey Hanger, 600 W. Sixth St., Ste. 300, Fort Worth 76102.

Sarah-Grace French is now an attorney with Wolfe, Tidwell & McCoy, 2591 Dallas Pkwy., Ste. 300, Frisco 75034.

Krista Paschke is now an attorney with Padfield & Stout, 420 Throckmorton St., Ste. 1210, Fort Worth 76102.

Lew Lefko has moved the Law Office of Lewis A. Lefko to 15950 N. Dallas Pkwy., Ste. 400, Dallas 75248.

Judge Harlin D. Hale, of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Texas in Dallas, received the William L. Norton Jr., Judicial Excellence Award from Thomson Reuters and the American Bankruptcy Institute.

Thomas F. Allen Jr. is now a member in Frost Brown Todd, The Crescent, 100 Crescent Ct., Ste. 350, Dallas 75201.

Monica Niewiarowski, previously with Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani, is now counsel to Bailey Brauer, Campbell Centre I, 8350 N. Central Expy., Ste. 650, Dallas 75206.


Jill S. Williams, previously with the Office of the Texas Attorney General Child Support Division, is now a partner in Powell, Youngblood & Taylor, 802 N. Caranchua St., Ste. 655, Corpus Christi 78401.

Sean M. Caporaletti is now of counsel to Drought, Drought & Bobbitt, 112 E. Pecan St., Ste. 2900, San Antonio 78205.

M. Patrick Maguire, of M. Patrick Maguire, P.C., and municipal judge of the city of Kerrville, was appointed to the State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

Julian R. Dominguez and Paul J. Cataldo Jr. are now associates of Goldman & Peterson, 10100 Reunion Pl., Ste. 800, San Antonio 78216.

Lindsey B. Berwick is now a partner in Jackson Walker, 112 E. Pecan St., Ste. 2400, San Antonio 78205.

David P. Brewster is now an associate of the Brewster Law Firm, 11120 Wurzbach Pkwy., Ste. 200, San Antonio 78230.


Cal Mundell, Michelle D. Esparza, and Matthew G. Marquez are now associates of Mounce, Green, Myers, Safi, Paxson & Galatzan, 100 N. Stanton St., Ste. 1000, El Paso 79901.

Amy A. Moore-Nichols, previously with Kubinski & Nichols, is now owner of the Law Office of Amy A. Moore-Nichols, 416 N. Stanton St., Ste. 406, El Paso 79901.


Eiji Kobayashi, previously with Paul Hastings, is now a shareholder in Greenberg Traurig, Meiji Yasuda Seimei Building 14F, 2-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-0005, Japan.

Jeffrey W. Kemp is now deputy general counsel to Molex, 2222 Wellington Ct., Lisle, Illinois 60532.TBJ

{Back to top}

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree