News From Around The Bar

4th Court of Appeals Celebrates 125th Anniversary

The 4th Court of Appeals in San Antonio celebrated its 125th anniversary on November 27 at the historic courtroom in the Bexar County Courthouse in San Antonio. The court first met in 1893 in the Kampmann Building on Main Plaza in San Antonio before moving to the Bexar County Courthouse upon its completion in 1896.

From left: Former 4th Court of Appeals in San Antonio Chief Justices Catherine Stone, Alma Lopez, and Phil Hardberger and current Chief Justice Sandee Bryan Marion. Photo courtesy of the San Antonio Bar Association.

Texas Supreme Court Commemorates 100th Anniversary of WWI Armistice

Justices of the Texas Supreme Court convened a special session of the court on November 14 to recognize the passing of 100 years since the end of World War I. Houston District Judge Mark Davidson and Houston attorney David Furlow spoke about those who had served, including eight Texas Supreme Court justices (Few Brewster; Frank P. Culver Jr.; A.J. Folley; Wilmer St. John Garwood; Meade Felix Griffin, who also served on the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals; Robert W. Hamilton; Gordon Simpson; and Charles Stewart Slatton), three governors (Jimmy Allred, Beauford H. Jester, and Dan Moody), and George Eastland Christian, who served on the Commission of the Court of Criminal Appeals. Descendants of the honorees were among those in attendance for the special session.

Baylor Law Student, SMU Dedman Receive Awards from TAJC

The Texas Access to Justice Commission, or TAJC, awarded Tychanika Kimbrough, of Baylor Law School, the 2018 Law Student Pro Bono Award, and SMU Dedman School of Law the 2018 Law School Commitment to Service Award. Kimbrough’s volunteer work at Baylor Law with veterans, juveniles, immigrants, and clinic clients reflected over 225 pro bono hours—none of it for course credit. SMU Dedman School of Law—one of the first law schools in Texas to make law-related public service a graduation requirement—now offers 10 legal clinics, including one that helps the victims of Hurricane Harvey and severe flooding in the Rio Grande Valley.

Peckar & Abramson Partner Raises more than $19,000 for MS 150

Curtis W. Martin, co-managing partner in Peckar & Abramson’s Houston office, was named 2018 Ride Marshal of the Year for this year’s BP MS 150, which is a 150-mile bicycle ride from Houston to Austin. Martin raised more than $19,000 for the MS 150.

Nominations Sought for Awards

Two State Bar committees—Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters and Legal Services to the Poor in Criminal Matters—seek nominations of deserving individuals, groups, and entities that perform exceptional work in the field of legal services to the poor. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on February 22. Recipients of the Pro Bono Excellence Awards and the Indigent Defense Awards will be notified in May. Award nomination forms are available at For more information about these awards, contact the Legal Access Division at or (800) 204-2222, ext. 1855.

HBA Raises Nearly $780K for Pro Bono Legal Services

Over 900 Houston Bar Association members and guests gathered for the 69th Annual Harvest Celebration on November 12 at the River Oaks Country Club. The event, sponsored by the HBA, the Houston Bar Foundation, and the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary, raised nearly $780,000 to support pro bono legal services for low-income Houston residents through Houston Volunteer Lawyers. For more information about the Houston Bar Association, go to


{Back to top}