Movers and Shakers

For more information or to submit a listing, go to or email


Donald O. Jansen, of the University of Texas System, was inducted to the Estate Planning Hall of Fame by the National Association of Estate Planners & Councils and was designated an Accredited Estate Planner (distinguished).

Ross Crow, of the city of Austin, received the 2017 Galen Sparks Award for Outstanding Public Service by an Assistant City Attorney from the Texas City Attorneys Association.

Elizabeth Hanshaw Winn, of the Travis County Attorney’s Office, was appointed to the Texas Legal Board of Directors.

Pajak Law has relocated to 2210 Western Trails Blvd., Ste. 103, Austin 78745.

Allyson Boney Evans, previously with the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, is now an attorney with the city of Austin Law Department, 301 W. Second St., Austin 78701.

Todd Kimbrough and Dane McKaughan are now partners in Holland & Knight, 111 Congress Ave., Ste. 540, Austin 78701.

Stephen A. Mason, previously with Michael Best and Friedrich, is now senior counsel to Munck Wilson Mandala, 2801 Via Fortuna Dr., Ste. 630, Austin 78746.

Matthew B. Cano is now a partner in Benjamin, Vana, Martinez & Biggs, 950 Westbank Dr., Ste. 205, Austin 78746.

Sharon M. Schweitzer, of Access to Culture in Austin, received a New York City Big Book Award in the multicultural nonfiction category from the New York City Big Book Award.

Becky H. Diffen is now a partner in McGuireWoods, 816 Congress Ave., Ste. 940, Austin 78701.

Jill R. Warren is now a supervising attorney with Raffalow, Bretoi & Adams, 8240 N. Mopac Expy., Ste. 150, Austin 78759.


David C. Buck, Jon W. Daly, Angela T. Richards, George J. Vlahakos, and Bill Cooper are now partners in Sidley Austin, 1000 Louisiana St., Ste. 6000, Houston 77002.

Adam Davenport, previously with Davenport IP Law, is now an associate of Patterson + Sheridan, 24 Greenway Plaza, Ste. 1600, Houston 77046.

Judge Phyllis Randolph Frye, of the Houston Municipal Courts, received the Stonewall Award from the American Bar Association Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity.

Wafa Abdin, previously with Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston, is now executive director of Houston Volunteer Lawyers, 1111 Bagby St., Houston 77002.

Kacy Kovar-Dusek is now an attorney with Gray Reed & McGraw, 1300 Post Oak Blvd., Ste. 2000, Houston 77056.

Arthur S. Feldman is now a shareholder in Zimmerman, Axelrad, Meyer, Stern & Wise, 3040 Post Oak Blvd., Ste. 1300, Houston 77056.

Daniel P. LeFort, previously with Eversheds Sutherland, is now a partner in K&L Gates, 1000 Main St., Ste. 2550, Houston 77002.

Tim D. Chheda is now an attorney with Selman Munson & Lerner, 9821 Katy Fwy., Ste. 875, Houston 77024.

Andrea Y. James is now an associate of Holland & Knight, 1100 Louisiana St., Ste. 4300, Houston 77002.


Kunal Shah, previously with Peckar & Abramson, is now an associate of Thompson & Horton, 500 N. Akard St., Ste. 3150, Dallas 75201.

Robert H. Albaral was named managing partner in Baker McKenzie, 2001 Ross Ave., Ste. 2300, Dallas 75201. Michael E. Santa Maria was named chair of the firm’s North America International Commercial Practice.

Adam Arikat, previously with ExxonMobil; Anne Moretti Langford, Alexander S. Farr, Jeri Leigh Miller, Preston Moore, Anais Ning, Scott Ratliff, Jake Rutherford, and Jessica Schauwecker are now associates of Weil, Gotshal & Manges, 200 Crescent Ct., St. 300, Dallas 75201. David B. Gail and Benton Lewis are now partners in and Kevin T. Crews and Ryan D. Gorsche are now counsel to the firm.

John D. Penn, of Perkins Coie in Dallas, was named firm chair of the Bankruptcy and Restructuring Practice.

Ira B. Perez and James A. Muela are now associates of Bell Nunnally & Martin, 3232 McKinney Ave., Ste. 1400, Dallas 75204.

Christian J. Cowart is now an associate of Scheef & Stone, 500 N. Akard St., Ste. 2700, Dallas 75201.

Gary R. Powell, previously with Locke Lord, is now of counsel to Bailey Brauer, Campbell Centre I, 8350 N. Central Expy., Ste. 206, Dallas 75206.

Michele Wong Krause, of the Wong Krause Law Firm in Dallas, was elected secretary of the Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board.

Karen Blakely Turner and Ashley McDowell have formed Turner McDowell, 8080 N. Central Expy., Ste. 1300, Dallas 75206.

Jennifer Settle Brown is now the chief legal officer of Baylor Scott & White Health in Dallas.

Benson Varghese, of Varghese Summersett in Fort Worth, was elected vice president of the Tarrant County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. Christy Jack, also with the firm, was named a 2017 Great Woman of Texas by the Fort Worth Business Press.

Michael O. Presbitero is now an associate of the Starr Law Firm, 3108 Midway Rd., Ste. 101, Plano 75093.

Kyle Ronald Hejl, previously with Touchstone, Bernays, Johnston, Beall, Smith & Stollenwerck, is now a partner in Burress Law, 6617 Virginia Pkwy., McKinney 75071.

Gemma L. Descoteaux, of Polsinelli in Dallas, was appointed the 2017 president-elect of the Dallas-Fort Worth chapter for the Association for Corporate Growth.

The Dallas Trial Lawyers Association elected new officers: Colleen M. Carboy, of the Carboy Law Firm in Lewisville, is now president; Ben DuBose, of the DuBose Law Firm in Dallas, is now president-elect; and Mark D. Frenkel, of Frenkel & Frenkel in Dallas, is now vice president of finance and secretary.

Lauren Becker, Sheila Salopek Petty, Blair Moore Raggio, and Fan Yang are now associates of Holland & Knight, 200 Crescent Ct., Ste. 1600, Dallas 75201.


Adelita Cavada and Ashley Cedillo are now associates of Daw & Ray, Pacific Plaza, 14100 San Pedro Ave., Ste. 302, San Antonio 78232.

Eduardo Juarez, of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission in San Antonio, received a Stonewall Award from the American Bar Association Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity.

Mathews J. Metyko is now an associate of Goldman & Associates, 10100 Reunion Place, Ste. 800, San Antonio 78216.

Sara E. Dysart, a private practitioner in San Antonio, and Steve Waters, of USAA Real Estate Company, received Ethical Life Awards from the Association of Corporate Counsel.


Anna M. Armistead, Frederick C. Hutterer III, and David R. Lopez are now associates of Mounce, Green, Myers, Safi, Paxson & Galatzan, 100 N. Stanton, 10th Fl., El Paso 79901.


Caleena D. Svatek, previously with Chamblee Ryan, is now a senior attorney with Knight Nicastro, 929 Pearl St., Ste. 350, Boulder, Colorado 80302.

T. Jason Smith, of Apttus in San Mateo, California, was recognized as a Global Leader and Influencer in Legal Business by the Association of International Law Firm Networks.

Raymond Van Dyke, of the Van Dyke IP Law Firm in Washington, D.C., was inducted as a fellow of the American Intellectual Property Law Association.

Kurt J. Hamrock, previously with Covington & Burling, is now associate general counsel to Cobham Advanced Electronic Solutions, 2121 Crystal Dr., Arlington, Virginia 22202.

Jonathan P. Nagy, previously with the Office of the Indiana Attorney General Government Litigation Section, is now chief deputy of the office’s Correctional Law Litigation Section, 302 W. Washington St., 5th Fl., Indianapolis, Indiana 46204.

Michelle Q. Pham is now an associate of Helsell Fetterman, 1001 Fourth Ave., Ste. 4200, Seattle, Washington 98154. TBJ

{Back to top}

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree