2015-2016 - TYLA President-elect Candidates

Sam Houston has been elected Texas Young Lawyers Association president-elect for 2015-2016. View the results.

Sam Houston
San Antonio

Houston is a shareholder in Houston Dunn, where he practices civil appellate law. After starting his career as a briefing attorney for the 14th Court of Appeals in Houston, he has worked in the appellate sections of prominent San Antonio law firms. He is certified in civil appellate law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

Houston has been a member of the TYLA Board of Directors since 2010 and currently serves as vice president. He is a council member of the State Bar of Texas Appellate Section, a past president of the San Antonio Young Lawyers Association, and a past chair of the San Antonio Bar Association Appellate Practice Section. Houston graduated from St. Mary’s University School of Law in 2003 and received Bachelor of Business Administration and Bachelor of Arts degrees from New Mexico State University in 2000.

View Houston's campaign brochure

John Shaw
Fort Worth

Shaw is an associate of Whitaker Chalk Swindle & Schwartz, where he focuses primarily on commercial litigation, employment, and intellectual property law, including matters concerning copyrights, trademarks, patent litigation, and trade secrets. Prior to joining Whitaker Chalk in 2012, he practiced public interest law at Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas for more than five years.

Shaw has been a member of the TYLA Board of Directors since 2012, serving most recently as treasurer of the Executive Committee. Before joining TYLA, he was elected as president of the Fort Worth-Tarrant County Young Lawyers Association, and he is currently vice chair of the board of directors of Texas Legal Services Center, a nonprofit law office in Austin that provides assistance and training to poverty law advocates and their clients in the areas of litigation support, education, and communication. Shaw earned his Juris Doctor from St. Mary’s University School of Law and a Bachelor of Science from Wayland Baptist University.

View Shaw's campaign brochure

{Election Home}