State Bar of Texas
June 8, 2010

Contact: Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Dallas and Fort Worth Area Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

FORT WORTH – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 10-11 at the Fort Worth Convention Center.

The following Dallas and Fort Worth area individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

Hon. Doug Lang of Dallas, Presidents' Award, presented by the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors and past presidents for outstanding contributions to the legal profession. Lang was nominated by the State Bar of Texas Professionalism Committee for his dedication and commitment to young lawyers entering the legal profession, demonstrated through his leadership in the mentoring program and "Transition to Practice" initiatives. Justice Lang's strong belief in professionalism sets an example for all lawyers.

Janna Clarke of Fort Worth, a Presidential Citation, for tremendous leadership as chair of the Annual Meeting Committee. Clarke worked tirelessly to ensure that Fort Worth's best was showcased, in addition to providing tremendous programming for Texas lawyers.

Trisha Graham of Fort Worth, a Presidential Citation, for leadership and commitment to the lawyers of Tarrant County and the State of Texas.

Paul Talmage Boston, Jr. of Dallas, a Presidential Citation, for planning an entire day of ethics programming surrounding the ideals of Atticus Finch. Boston's professionalism and commitment to the ideals exemplified through this character bring great pride to the legal profession.

Students of Yavneh Academy of Dallas, a Presidential Citation, for recognizing the importance of access to our justice system and for the creativity, commitment, and energy spent demonstrating that there are no obstacles that cannot be overcome in finding solutions and making a difference.

Harris Finley & Bogle, P.C. of Fort Worth, a Presidential Citation, in recognition of the firm's willingness to support the organized Bar as Roland Johnson fulfilled the honor and responsibilities of serving as president of the State Bar of Texas.

Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program, Pro Bono Award, presented by the State Bar Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee. This award honors a volunteer attorney organization that has made an outstanding contribution toward guaranteeing access to justice to the legal system by the poor. DVAP was created in 1997 as a joint initiative of the Dallas Bar Association and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas to provide pro bono legal aid to poor people. During 2009, 1,191 lawyers and 1,048 non-lawyer volunteers participated in DVAP, donating 18,008 volunteer hours of pro bono work. DVAP has 11 Neighborhood Legal Clinics per month at seven community locations, five pro se divorce clinics monthly, Wills Clinics coordinated with the Dallas Area on Aging, and other events such as the Belo Legal Clinic at the Belo Mansion. The group has partnered with the Housing Crisis Center to provide Landlord Tenant Workshops. DVAP assists clients with other civil matters, including consumer issues, benefits, employment, family, and housing issues.

Henry Gilchrist of Dallas, Outstanding 50 Year Lawyer, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award recognizes attorneys whose practice spans 50 years or more, and who adhere to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public.

Rebekah S. Brooker, Kelly L. Burris, Thea D. Dalkalitsis, Christopher Rogers and Sarah Rogers of Dallas, Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) President's Awards of Merit. Also receiving TYLA President's Awards of Merit are Zeke Fortenberry of McKinney, Lt. Col. Jon Jackson of Arlington and Rosalyn R. Tippett of Coppell.

Presentation of State Bar Section awards include:

Hon. W. Royal Furgeson of Dallas, Distinguished Counselor Award, presented by the Antitrust & Business Litigation Section.

Hon. Jerry L. Buchmeyer of Dallas, Judge Norman W. Black Award, presented posthumously by the Sexual Orientation and Gender Identification Issues Section.

Jim Cowles of Dallas, Legends Award, presented by the Insurance Law Section.

Barton E. Showalter of Dallas, Chair Award, presented by the Intellectual Property Law Section to recognize years of outstanding service and contributions.

Shruti Krishnan, SMU Dedman School of Law, Women & Minority Scholarship, presented by the Intellectual Property Law Section to women/minority law students who intend to practice IP law in the State of Texas and who demonstrate outstanding academic achievement.

Lyla Malolepszy of Sherman, Exceptional Pro Bono Award, presented by the Paralegal Division.

Wendi A. Rogers of Dallas, Outstanding Committee Chair Award, presented by the Paralegal Division.

Debbie Spencer and Lori Winter of Dallas, Special Recognition Award, presented by the Paralegal Division.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.