State Bar of Texas Seal

September 25, 2020
Contact: Amy Starnes
Public Information Director, State Bar of Texas
(800) 204-2222, ext. 1706, or (512) 427-1706

 State Bar board approves candidates for president-elect

AUSTIN—The State Bar of Texas Board of Directors voted September 25 to approve Sara E. Dysart of San Antonio and Laura Gibson of Houston as candidates for 2021-2022 president-elect.

Sara DysartDysart and Gibson will appear on the ballot in April 2021 along with any certified petition candidates. There are currently no additional president-elect candidates, although members have until March 1 to submit their nominating petitions to the State Bar for certification.

Dysart, a solo practitioner in San Antonio, is board certified in commercial real estate law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. She earned her J.D. from St. Mary’s University School of Law in 1981.

Dysart served on the State Bar Board of Directors, 2012-2015, and was co-chair of the State Bar Annual Meeting Committee in 2015. She has served on the St. Mary’s University School of Law Board of Visitors since 2016 and has been its chair since 2018. Dysart served on the San Antonio Bar Association Board of Directors, 2010-2012; on the Texas Bar College Board of Directors, 2019-2022; and has been a member of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers since 2011.

Dysart won numerous awards including a State Bar President’s Award in 2016, a State Bar Presidential Citation in 2015, the San Antonio Bar Foundation Peacemaker Award in 2014, the Association of Corporate Counsel South Texas Chapter 2017 C. Lee Cusenbary Ethical Life Award, and the Texas Bar Foundation 2020 Terry Lee Grantham Memorial Award.

Laura GibsonGibson is a Houston-based partner in Dentons US and head of the Texas Employment & Labor Group. She earned her J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center in December 1984 and joined Locke Lord in 1985. She made partner in the firm in 1992. In 1993, she co-founded a four-lawyer firm last known as Ogden, Gibson, Broocks, Longoria & Hall where she practiced until 2016.

Gibson was 2018-2019 chair of the State Bar Board of Directors. She was a director for District 4, 2016-2020, and served on numerous committees including the Executive Committee and Nominations and Elections Subcommittee. She is a past co-chair of the Texas Minority Counsel Program Steering Committee.

Gibson served as 2011-2012 president of the Association of Women Attorneys and founded the Premier Women in Law luncheon during her term. She served as 2015-2016 president of the Houston Bar Association. In 2013, she received the Trailblazer Outside Counsel Award from the Texas Minority Counsel Program for her commitment to diversity. In early June 2020, Gibson founded the Liberty & Justice For All Task Force.

Dysart and Gibson were recommended to the board by the Nominations and Elections Subcommittee, which this year interviewed nine potential nominees from metropolitan counties in the state, according to State Bar election rules.

Media note: High-resolution photos of the candidates are available upon request.

— — —

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system. For more information, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @statebaroftexas, like us on Facebook at, or visit

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree