June 20, 2017
Contact: Amy Starnes
Public Information Director, State Bar of Texas
(800) 204-2222, ext. 1706, or (512) 427-1706


State Bar of Texas to honor McAllen-area justice, attorneys
 at Annual Meeting

AUSTIN — The State Bar of Texas will honor exceptional service to the public and the legal profession during its Annual Meeting on June 22 and 23 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

The following McAllen-area individuals are among those being honored:

  • Senior Chief Justice David Wellington Chew, of the 8th Court of Appeals, will receive the Champion of Diversity Award presented by the State Bar of Texas Asian Pacific Interest Section.

  • Victor A. Flores, of the City of McAllen’s city attorney’s office, will receive a TYLA President’s Award presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association.

  • Valorie Glass will be posthumously awarded the Richard G. Carlson Lifetime Award presented by the State Bar of Texas Labor and Employment Law Section.

For more information about Annual Meeting, visit

— — —

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system. For more information, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @statebaroftexas, like us on Facebook at, or visit

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree