State Bar of Texas Seal

June 9, 2016
Contact: Amy Starnes
Public Information Director, State Bar of Texas
(800) 204-2222, ext. 1706, or (512) 427-1706

Fort Worth to host State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting

FORT WORTH — The 2016 State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting will take place June 16-17 at the Fort Worth Convention Center and Omni Fort Worth Hotel.
Featured speakers include:

  • Michael Morton, author of Getting Life: An Innocent Man’s 25-Year Journey from Prison to Peace: A Memoir, will speak on his path to peace since being released from prison after serving nearly 25 years for a crime he did not commit. (Noon-1:30 p.m. June 16, Fort Worth Convention Center Ballroom)

  • S.C. Gwynne, New York Times bestselling author, Pulitzer Prize finalist and former executive editor of Texas Monthly. (Noon-1:30 p.m. June 17, Fort Worth Convention Center Ballroom)

  • Ken Reeves, former NFL player and now vice president, human resources at Freese & Nichols in Fort Worth, takes teamwork from the field to the boardroom. (7:30 a.m.-8:45 a.m. June 17, Omni Fort Worth Hotel, Texas Ballroom A-E)

Other special events include:

  • The 2016 Open Government Seminar (free and open to the public) will feature panel discussions on “Defining Media in the Digital Age” and “Caught on Tape: Exploring Body Cameras and Photography of Police” (9-11 a.m. June 17, Fort Worth Convention Center, Room 106)

  • The Texas Supreme Court Historical Society and the State Bar of Texas will present a reenactment of an oral argument before an historic all-woman Texas Supreme Court. The event will demonstrate how the three special justices decided Johnson v. Darr, a 1925 insurance case Texas courts cite to this day. Texas Supreme Court Justices Eva Guzman and Debra H. Lehrmann and Judge Jennifer Walker Elrod of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit will portray the three justices of the all-woman court. (10-11 a.m. June 16, Fort Worth Convention Center, Room 121AB)

  • Frank Stevenson of Dallas will be sworn in as 2016-2017 president of the State Bar of Texas, and outgoing President Allan K. DuBois of San Antonio will celebrate his successful year. Tom Vick of Weatherford will become State Bar president-elect. (Noon-1:30 p.m. June 17, Fort Worth Convention Center Ballroom)

Visit and click on “Download the event guide” to view the full schedule.

Media note: News media are welcome to attend sessions, but registration is required. Contact the State Bar Public Information Office at (800) 204-2222, ext. 1706, or at to register. Upon arrival, sign in at the State Bar Information Booth at the Fort Worth Convention Center and pick up a media pass for access. The official Annual Meeting hashtag is #sbot16. All media questions concerning the Annual Meeting may be directed to Amy Starnes, State Bar of Texas public information director, at (800) 204-2222, ext. 1706, (512) 427-1706, or

— — —

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system. For more information, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @statebaroftexas, like us on Facebook at, or visit

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree