April 30, 2015
Contact: Lowell Brown
Communications Division Director, State Bar of Texas
(800) 204-2222, ext. 1713, or (512) 427-1713

Frank Stevenson
Frank Stevenson of Dallas elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

AUSTIN — Texas attorneys have elected Frank Stevenson of Dallas as the next president-elect of the State Bar of Texas.

Stevenson received nearly 55 percent of the 23,958 votes cast during a month-long voting period that ended April 30. His opponent, Randy Howry of Austin, received 10,562 votes, or 44 percent.

Stevenson will be sworn in as president-elect during the State Bar’s Annual Meeting on June 19, 2015, in San Antonio and will serve as president of the State Bar of Texas from June 2016 to June 2017.

Stevenson is a partner in Locke Lord Edwards and practices in the areas of real estate/finance and public law. Throughout his 34-year career he has represented financial institutions, owners, tenants, and others in the acquisition, development, leasing, financing, and sale of significant properties. In recent years he has increasingly focused on the representation of governmental entities in their project advancement and legislative activities.

Stevenson is a former chair of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors and a former president of the Dallas Bar Association. He serves on the State Bar’s Pro Bono Workgroup, the board of trustees of the Dallas Bar Foundation, and as a division chair for the Campaign for Equal Access to Justice. He has been honored by legal aid providers and received presidential citations from the State and Dallas bars. Stevenson was the founding chair of award-winning programs to mentor beginning lawyers and to diversify the profession. He holds numerous leadership positions with civic, charitable, arts, and educational organizations.
He and his wife, Helen, have three grown children.

Stevenson received a bachelor’s degree from Amherst College in 1977 and a J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law in 1980.

In other results, the following individuals were elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors:

Micah Belden, Sherman, District 1; Michael J. Wynne, Houston, District 4, Place 3; M. Carter Crow, Houston, District 4, Place 5; Andrew Tolchin, Lake Jackson, District 5; Scott P. Stolley, Dallas, District 6, Place 2; Gary L. Nickelson, Fort Worth, District 7, Place 1; Ann Greenberg, Austin, District 9, Place 3; Rebecca Simmons, San Antonio, District 10; Scott Sherwood, Panhandle, District 13; and H. Alan Carmichael, Sweetwater, District 16.

TYLA election

Sam Houston

In the Texas Young Lawyers Association election, Sam Houston of San Antonio was elected president-elect and will serve as TYLA president from June 2016 to June 2017. Houston received nearly 51 percent of the 4,608 votes cast; his opponent, John Shaw of Fort Worth, received 48 percent.

Houston is a shareholder in Houston Dunn PLLC, where he practices civil appellate law. After starting his career as a briefing attorney for the 14th Court of Appeals in Houston, he has worked in the appellate sections of prominent San Antonio law firms. He is board certified in civil appellate law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

Houston has been a member of the TYLA Board of Directors since 2010 and currently serves as vice president. He is a council member of the State Bar of Texas Appellate Section, a past president of the San Antonio Young Lawyers Association, and a past chair of the San Antonio Bar Association Appellate Practice Section.

Houston graduated from St. Mary’s University School of Law in 2003 and received BBA and BA degrees from New Mexico State University in 2000.
Houston is married to Lori Houston, and they have one daughter.

The following individuals were elected to the TYLA Board of Directors: Amanda A. Abraham, Marshall, District 1; Laura Pratt, Lubbock, District 3; Aaron J. Burke, Dallas, District 5, Place 1; Alex J. Bell, Dallas, District 5, Place 3; Joel T. Towner, Houston, District 6, Place 3; Shaprecia Bryson, Houston, District 6, Place 5; Rachel L. Grove, Beaumont, District 7; Rudolph K. Metayer, Austin, District 8, Place 1; Curtis W. Lucas, San Antonio, District 9; Ryan E. Scharar, Fort Worth, District 10, Place 1; Scott Bodkin, Denton, District 11; Jo Anne Garcia, McAllen, District 13; Sara Anne Giddings, San Angelo, District 15; Bryan D. Mackay, Odessa, District 17; Nick Guinn, San Antonio, District 18, Place 1; Jonathan Garcia, Laredo, District 19; and Andrew Dornberg, Richmond, District 21.

Detailed election results are available at

# # #

The State Bar of Texas, created in 1939, is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney disciplinary system. For more information, visit

The Texas Young Lawyers Association, organized in 1930, is commonly referred to as the “public service arm” of the State Bar of Texas. TYLA’s primary purposes are to facilitate the administration of justice, foster respect for the law, and advance the role of the legal profession in serving the public. All licensed Texas lawyers 36 years old or younger or in their first five years of practice, regardless of age, are automatically members of TYLA. For more information, visit

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree