Jan. 5, 2015

Lowell Brown, Communications Division Director
State Bar of Texas
(512) 427-1713


Entries sought for 2015 Texas Gavel Awards
-Annual Awards Recognize Journalistic Excellence-

 AUSTIN — Submissions are sought for the 2015 Texas Gavel Awards, a distinction that commends outstanding journalism that fosters public understanding of the legal system.

The Texas Gavel Awards program is coordinated by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by an independent panel.

“The fourth estate is essential to the fabric of our society,” said Rudy England, chair of the Public Affairs Committee. “Effective journalism equips individuals with factual information and allows citizens to make responsible decisions that impact our daily lives.”

Texas Gavel Awards recognize excellence in journalism that educates the public about the rule of law, the legal profession, and the judicial branch of government; and discloses practices or procedures needing correction to improve the practice of law, the courts, or the justice system.

Entries published or broadcast during the 2014 calendar year will be accepted for the print, broadcast, and online categories until 5 p.m. April 1. Awards will be presented Sept. 17 at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas annual conference in Austin.

For more information on the Texas Gavel Awards, including eligibility requirements and submission guidelines, visit or call (512) 427-1713.

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree