State Bar of Texas
April 30, 2014

Contact: Lowell Brown, public information director, 800-204-2222, ext. 1713, or 512-427-1713

Allan DuBois of San Antonio elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

AUSTIN — State Bar of Texas officials tonight announced that Allan DuBois of San Antonio defeated Beverly Godbey of Dallas in the race to become the next president-elect.

DuBois received 11,413 votes, or 55.64 percent, and Godbey received 8,441 votes, or 41.15 percent.

DuBois is a solo practitioner at the Law Office of Allan K. DuBois, P.C., in San Antonio, where he handles civil litigation and appeals, mediation, and arbitration. He is a trustee and grants chair of the Texas Bar Foundation and has served on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Professional Development Program Committee, and Nominations and Elections Committee.

DuBois has also served as an advisor to the State Bar of Texas Alternative Dispute Resolution and Military and Veterans Law sections and the Texas Lawyers’ Assistance Program and Legal Services to the Poor committees. He is a former president of the San Antonio Bar Association, a founding member and current volunteer attorney for Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans, a former member of the District 10 Grievance Committee Professional Enhancement Panel, and a Sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation.

DuBois received a B.A. in English from the University of Texas and was an Army ROTC Distinguished Military Graduate in 1967. He earned a J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law in 1970.

DuBois will be sworn in as president-elect during the State Bar’s Annual Meeting June 26-27 in Austin and will serve as president of the State Bar from June 2015 to June 2016.

In other election results, the following individuals were elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors:

David Chaumette, of Houston; Mary Abbott Martin, of Houston; Joseph Indelicato Jr., of Houston; John V. Jansonius, of Dallas; E. Leon Carter, of Dallas; Lance D. Sharp, of Austin; Brian Miller, of Corpus Christi; Jose “Joe” Escobedo Jr., of McAllen; Amy P. Bryan, of Stephenville; and Ruben S. Robles, of El Paso.

C. Barrett Thomas was elected president-elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Thomas is a felony prosecutor in the 32nd Judicial District Attorney’s Office and also practices family law in Sweetwater and Abilene.

Thomas has been a TYLA director since 2011, serving most recently on the Executive Committee as treasurer. He has been executive advisor to the Local Affiliates and Law Student Outreach committees, chaired the Community Education Committee, and served on the Budget, Long-Range Planning, Law-Focused Education, Member Services, and National Trial Competition committees, among others. He is the creator and co-author of the project Remaining Civil, which is now taught at police academies across the state.

Thomas previously served as treasurer and president of the Abilene Young Lawyers Association. He is the current president of the West Central Texas Children’s Advocacy Center and frequently volunteers as a police academy instructor and reserve deputy. 

Thomas holds a J.D. from Texas Tech, an MCJ from Tarleton State, a BBS from Hardin-Simmons, and a Master Peace Officer Certification from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.

Newly elected TYLA directors include: Baili B. Rhodes, of College Station; Zeke Fortenberry, of McKinney; Aaron T. Capps, of Dallas; Bill Gardner, of Dallas; Michelle P. Scheffler, of Houston; Adam C. Harden, of Houston; John W. Ellis, of Austin; John W. Shaw, of Fort Worth; Shannon Steel White, of Corpus Christi; Raymond J. Baeza, of El Paso; Alex Yarbrough, of Amarillo; and Veronica S. Wolfe, of San Antonio.

# # #

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney disciplinary system.

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree