State Bar of Texas
June 17, 2013
Contact: Lowell Brown,, (800) 204-2222, ext. 1715 or (512) 427-1715

Houston Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

DALLAS – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 20-21 at the Hilton Anatole.

The following Houston individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

John Raley, Presidential Citation, for his representation of an innocent man and his quest for justice

The Woodlands Bar Association, Star of Achievement

The Houston Bar Association, Outstanding Partnership Award

Exxon Mobil Corporation Law Department, W. Frank Newton Award, presented by the State Bar of Texas Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee.

This award recognizes the efforts of attorney groups that have made outstanding contributions toward increasing access to legal services for the poor.

Monica Karuturi, Corporate Counsel Pro Bono Award, presented by the Texas Access to Justice Commission

Anita Barksdale, Patrice B. Childress, Erin O’Driscoll, and Leif Olson, President’s Award of Merit, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA)

Justice Tracy Christopher, Samuel Pessarra Outstanding Jurist Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award honors an active federal or state judge who exhibits an exceptionally outstanding reputation for competency, efficiency, and integrity.

Wayne Fisher, Outstanding 50-Year Lawyer Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award recognizes attorneys whose practice spans 50 years or more, and who adhere to the highest principles and traditions of the legal profession and service to the public.

C.E. Rhodes, Outstanding Achievement Award, presented by the African-American Lawyers Section

Hon. Carolyn D. King, Banco Rotto Award, presented by the Bankruptcy Law Section

Sara M. Keith, Romina L. Mulloy-Bossio Achievement Award, presented by the Bankruptcy Law Section  

Benny Agosto Jr., Pete Torres Jr. Community Service Award, presented by the Hispanic Issues Section

Greg Gladden, Civil Rights Award, presented by the Individual Rights and Responsibilities Section

Professor Richard R. Carlson, Richard R. Carlson Award for Outstanding Service to the Practice of Labor and Employment Law in the State of Texas, presented by the Labor and Employment Law Section

Professor Emeritus Ira B. Shepard, Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer, presented by the Taxation Section

Judge Nancy Atlas, Sarah T. Hughes Award, presented by the Women and the Law Section

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.