State Bar of Texas
June 7, 2012

Contact: Public Information Office, 800.204.2222 x 1800

Fort Worth Individuals Honored by State Bar of Texas

HOUSTON — Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, June 14–15, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

The following Fort Worth individuals will be honored:

Karen C. Denney, Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). A partner in the Labor and Employment Practice Group at Haynes and Boone, LLP, she has coordinated high school mock trials and developed programs for elementary students and mentored law students.

Brooke Ulrickson Allen, President’s Award, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). She organized and helped produce The Unconscious Truth: Legal and Physical Effects of Underage Binge Drinking and coordinated filming, helped write scripts, and implemented this program at Texas Christian University. For the last three years, she served as a co-chair of the On-Line Member Services Committee, working on eNews and championing the Ten Minute Mentor Goes to Law School programs.

David Keltner, Gregory S. Coleman Outstanding Appellate Lawyer, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation.

James Parsons, Texas Wesleyan Law School, Buck J. Wynne Scholarship Recipient, presented by the Environmental & Natural Resources Law Section.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

# # #

State Bar of Texas | 1414 Colorado St. | Austin, Texas 78701 |