State Bar of Texas
May 1, 2012

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Lisa M. Tatum Named President-elect of State Bar of Texas;
­­­Kristy Sims Piazza Named President-elect of Texas Young Lawyers Association

AUSTIN - State Bar of Texas officials tonight announced that Lisa M. Tatum of San Antonio was elected by the state's lawyers to serve as president-elect of the organization. Kristy Sims Piazza of Plano was elected president-elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Lisa M. Tatum is the founder and owner of LM Tatum, PLLC (The Tatum Law Practice) in San Antonio with a practice that focuses on corporate, education, employment and public finance law. Tatum serves as outside and general counsel to corporate clients, public and private, as well as individuals. Prior to forming her own firm, Tatum was managing associate at West & Associates L.L.P., an associate with Escamilla & Poneck, Inc., and served as a Bexar County Assistant Criminal District Attorney in San Antonio.

Tatum has served on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Budget Committee, and Audit & Finance Committee, among others. She has served as co-chair and chair of the Discipline and Client Attorney Assistance Program Committee, and currently serves as vice chair of the Commission for Lawyer Discipline. She has been awarded a State Bar Presidential Citation and Outstanding Third Year Director Award. She is a past president and former director of the San Antonio Black Lawyers Association,  past chair, former vice chair and member of the African American Lawyers Section of the State Bar, and a member of the Bexar County Women’s Bar Association. She is a member of the San Antonio Bar Association, American Bar Association and National Bar Association. Tatum received a B.A. in government from Smith College and her J.D. from Santa Clara University School of Law, where she was inducted as a national member of the Order of Barristers.

Kristy Sims Piazza is an associate of KoonsFuller, P.C. in Plano, where she practices family law. She has served on the TYLA board since 2008, and currently serves as TYLA vice president. Piazza served as TYLA secretary during 2010-11 and has served as an executive committee advisor, vice chair and co-chair of several TYLA committees. She was a 2009 recipient of TYLA’s President’s Award of Merit. Piazza is also involved with public service in her community and in 2011 she was honored as one of the Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program’s most active pro bono attorneys. She has served on the board of directors of the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers, the Collin County Young Lawyers Association and the Collin County Bench Bar Foundation. She received a B.A. from the University of North Texas and her J.D. from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law.

Tatum and Piazza will be sworn in as presidents-elect during the State Bar's Annual Meeting June 14-15 in Houston, and will serve as president of the State Bar and TYLA respectively from June 2013 until June 2014.

Also elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors are Robert Guest of Forney, Louis H. Iselin of Cypress, Laura Gibson and Denise Scofield of Houston, Larry McDougal of Richmond, Lawrence Boyd of Dallas, Robert E. Aldrich, Jr. of Fort Worth, Sara E. Dysart of San Antonio, Thomas C. Riney of Amarillo, and Roger A. Key of Lubbock.

Newly-elected TYLA directors include Baili B. Rhodes of College Station, Kimberly Smith of McKinney, Aaron T. Capps and William “Bill” Gardner of Dallas, Leif Olson of Humble, Patrice B. Childress and Kathryn E. Boatman of Houston, Sally Pretorius of Austin, John W. Shaw of Fort Worth, Shannon L. Steel of Corpus Christi, Danny Razo of El Paso, Laura Hale of Amarillo, and Sam Houston of San Antonio.

Detailed election results are available at

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney disciplinary system.

# # #

1414 Colorado St.
Austin, TX  78701

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree