State Bar of Texas
Oct. 3, 2011

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 512.427.1713, or 800.204.2222 x 1713

State Bar of Texas Selects 19 for Leadership Academy

AUSTIN – The State Bar of Texas is pleased to announce the members of its fourth annual leadership academy. LeadershipSBOT is a diversity initiative to identify promising leaders in their communities and in the profession. This year's class includes: 

Sharesa Alexander, Hutto
Alex Bell, McLennan County DA’s Office, Waco
Dennis Carter, Law Office of Dennis Carter, Houston
Karen Denney, Haynes and Boone, LLP, Fort Worth
Capt. Deshun Eubanks, Fort Worth
Katherine "Katie" Fillmore, Austin
Jo Anne Garcia, Pharr
Aric Garza, Law Offices of Aric Garza, San Antonio
Gilbert Gonzalez, Bexar County Courts at Law, San Antonio
Zachary Hall, Third Court of Appeals, Austin
Amber James, Atkins, Hollmann, Jones, Peacock, Lewis & Lyon, Odessa
Shakeeb "Shak" Mir, Jackson Walker L.L.P., Dallas
Courtney Barksdale Perez, The Stafford Law Firm, Dallas
Anna Sankaran, Greenberg Traurig LLP, Houston
Andrew Sefzik, Sprouse Shrader Smith P.C., Amarillo
Manesh Shah, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, Dallas
Christie Villarreal, Austin
Jennifer Wang, Carrington Coleman, Dallas
Tania Ward, Cedar Park

The long range goal of the program is to develop leaders in the legal profession that more closely reflect the demographics of the state.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.