State Bar of Texas
July 8, 2011

Contact:  Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

State Bar of Texas Honors Journalistic Excellence with Announcement of 2011 Texas Gavel Awards

AUSTIN – The State Bar of Texas today announced recipients of the 2011 Texas Gavel Awards honoring journalistic excellence that helps foster public understanding of the legal system. Recipients are:

  • Kevin Krause and Ed Timms, The Dallas Morning News, “Dallas County Constables”
  • Linda P. Campbell, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Op-Ed Columns
  • Kathy Cruz, Hood County News (Granbury), “Best Interest of the Child”
  • Logan Carver, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, “Mental Injustice”
  • Jeremy Roebuck, The Monitor (McAllen), "Crime and Punishment"

Awards will be presented Friday, August 12, at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas (FOIFT) annual conference in Austin.

The Texas Gavel Awards are sponsored by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by out-of-state journalists and editors, legal reporting experts, attorneys with journalism backgrounds, and members of academia.

Journalists play an important role in educating the public about the legal system and the annual Texas Gavel Awards honor those efforts.

# # #

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree