State Bar of Texas
July 1, 2008

Contact: Kim Davey, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Marshall Lawyer Honored by State Bar of Texas

(Austin) – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession was a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, held June 26-27 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston.

Michael C. Smith, a partner in Siebman, Reynolds, Burg, Phillips & Smith, LLP in Marshall, was presented with the Outstanding Third Year Director Award and a Presidential Citation for his service to the State Bar of Texas.

Outgoing State Bar President Gib Walton of Houston honored Smith for his leadership in chairing the Bar's Member Services and Education Committee. Smith was praised for his dedication and commitment to improving services to the legal profession, particularly through membership, insurance and association benefits.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.