State Bar of Texas
June 23, 2009

Contact: Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Dallas, Fort Worth Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

DALLAS – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 25-26 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

The following Dallas and Fort Worth area individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

Talmage Boston of Dallas, a Presidential Citation for vision and drive in serving as chair of the Annual Meeting Committee.

George Coleman of Dallas, Dan Rugeley Price Memorial Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation. This award honors an attorney who serves the profession as a volunteer and legal scholar while also actively practicing law, and who exhibits dedication to service to the public and to the Bar.

Professor Linda Eads of Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, Lola Wright Foundation Award, presented by the Texas Bar Foundation.

Phillip Benjamin Ewald of Frisco, Leon Jaworski Award for Teaching Excellence. The award is presented by the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors to recognize educators who have made an outstanding contribution to law-focused education and whose programs foster understanding of the values of our legal and judicial systems. Ewald teaches at Centennial High School, Frisco ISD.

Orrin Harrison of Dallas, a Presidential Citation for leadership of the Task Force on Grievance Committee Structure.

Prater Monning III of Dallas, Nancy L. Garms Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to law-focused education.

Paula Fisette Sweeney of Dallas, Gene Cavin Award for substantial contributions to State Bar continuing legal education.

Vinson & Elkins LLP Veterans' Initiative, W. Frank Newton Award. V&E has assisted veterans with matters ranging from improper denial of benefits and efforts to take unfair financial advantage of deployed personnel, to defending military men and women in custody battles, evictions, and even in military proceedings. To ensure that its legal services for this project are going to those who have the strongest and most urgent needs, V&E has partnered with the Texas Veterans of Foreign Wars, and other groups.

The Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA) will honor the following: Stephanie Bourland Daley of Fort Worth, Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award. Daley is a former president of the Fort Worth-Tarrant County Young Lawyers Association. While serving on the TYLA Board of Directors, she was instrumental in the success of numerous projects, including the "And Justice for All" license plates initiative and Law Student Division publication. Her community involvement includes serving as co-chair of the National Adoption Day Facilities Committee, a member of the YMCA Camp Carter Board of Managers, and a trained child advocate with CASA.

TYLA President's Awards of Merit will be presented to Rob Canas of Dallas, Adrienne Clements of Fort Worth, Sarah Kownacki of Dallas, Jennifer Evans Morris of Dallas, Kristy Piazza of Plano, Ken Riney of Dallas, Chris Rogers of Dallas, Rosalyn Tippett of Dallas, and Brooke Ulrickson of Fort Worth.

State Bar Sections are honoring the following:

Bob Bliss of Dallas, Distinguished Texas Real Estate Lawyer Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the Real Estate, Probate & Trust Law Section. Bliss is honored for giving extensively of himself to advance the profession and the community.

William A. Brewer III of Dallas, Community Service Award, presented by the Hispanic Issues Section. Brewer chairs several philanthropic programs that benefit the Latino community, including the Bickel & Brewer Future Leaders Program, which lights a path to college for deserving students from the Dallas Independent School District. He is the founder of the Bickel & Brewer Latino Institute for Human Rights at NYU School of Law, which provides full law scholarships and specialized training to future advocates who will champion human rights in Latino communities.

Adelfa Callejo of Dallas, Reynaldo G. Garza Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the Hispanic Issues Section.

Bob Griffo of Dallas, Special Recognition Award for Exemplary Service, presented by the Tax Section. Griffo is being honored for his extraordinary contributions as a member of the Tax Section Council.

Gregory S.C. Huffman of Dallas, Distinguished Counselor Award, presented by the Antitrust & Business Litigation Section.

Brett Thompsen of Dallas, Intellectual Property Law Section Writing Award.

Tom Vick of Weatherford, Dan Price Award, presented by the Family Law Section.

Dolly Wu of Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, Intellectual Property Law Section Women & Minority Scholarship Award.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

Media Note: Photos are available on request for most award winners.