State Bar of Texas
June 23, 2009

Contact: Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Waco Individuals Honored by State Bar of Texas

DALLAS – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 25-26 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

The following Waco area individuals are among those being honored: Professor Thomas Featherston of Baylor Law School, Distinguished Texas Probate Lawyer Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the Real Estate, Probate & Trust Law Section. Featherston is honored for significant and sustained contributions to the Texas probate, estate and trust law bar throughout his career.

Natalie Cobb Koehler of Meridian, TYLA President's Award of Merit for her leadership in producing "Healing the Wounds: Navigating the Legal System after Surviving Domestic Abuse," more than 1,500 copies of which has been distributed statewide. Koehler served as TYLA secretary during 2008-09 and will serve as TYLA vice president for 2009-10.

Michael J. Kopp, Justice Frank G. Evans Award, presented by the Alternative Dispute Resolution Section to honor exceptional efforts in promoting or furthering the use of alternative dispute methods in Texas. Kopp is executive director of the McLennan County Dispute Resolution Center and adjunct professor at Baylor University. The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

Media Note: Photos are available on request.