State Bar of Texas
January 29, 2009

Contact: Kim Davey,, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

State Bar of Texas to Honor Waco and Temple Lawyers as Bar Board

(Waco, Texas) – State Bar of Texas President Harper Estes of Midland will present resolutions honoring local attorneys in conjunction with a meeting of the Bar's board of directors tomorrow.

Waco attorneys Frederick "Rick" Bostwick III and Ryan C. Johnson will be honored at noon, Friday, Jan. 30 at the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors luncheon to be held at Kronzer Great Hall, Baylor Alumni Center. Jack Crews of Temple will be honored Friday evening at Cheeves Bros. Steakhouse in Temple.

Bostwick and Johnson will be honored for helping 20 residents of Mart, Texas who were threatened with eviction when the city considered selling the property the residents leased. Bostwick and Johnson represented the residents – some of whom had lived on the property for decades – on a pro bono basis, and helped them keep their homes and sign long-term leases.

Rick Bostwick has practiced trial law for 30 years and is a founding partner in Beard, Kultgen, Brophy, Bostwick & Dickson, L.L.P. His community involvement includes volunteer and leadership positions with the Waco Foundation, Waco Independent School District, Pape Foundation and the University of the South (Sewanee). He earned a bachelor's degree from Vanderbilt University and a law degree from Baylor Law School.

Ryan Johnson is an associate with Beard, Kultgen, Brophy, Bostwick & Dickson, L.L.P., where he practices business litigation. A former member of Leadership Waco, he is also a member of the American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division, Texas Young Lawyers Association and Waco-McLennan County Young Lawyers Association. He earned a bachelor's degree from Texas A&M University and a law degree from Baylor Law School.

Jack Crews, a shareholder in the Bell County firm of Baird, Crews, Schiller & Whitaker, P.C., will be presented with a resolution to recognize 23 years of dedicated service to the community and the legal profession. He is a past president of the Bell County Bar Association, a fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation, and a member of the District 8C Grievance Committee. He presides as chairman of the City of Temple's Comprehensive Plan Advisory Committee. Crews is a graduate of Baylor Law School.

Also being honored during the board meeting Friday at Baylor Law School are Texas Supreme Court Justice Dale Wainwright and outgoing State Bar of Texas Chief Disciplinary Counsel John Neal, both of Austin.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.