For Lawyers

Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE)

Every active State Bar of Texas member must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year (read definition below).

Our MCLE department is responsible for ensuring that our members are in compliance with yearly MCLE requirements.

Failure to report CLE credit hours could result in a non-compliance penalty ranging from $100 to $300.

Report Your MCLE Hours

Learn about your annual verification report and how to report your hours.

CLE Sponsors & Out-of-State Accreditation

Sponsor information and attorney out-of-state CLE course accreditation.

Determine MCLE Hours

Read detailed information to help you determine your MCLE hours.

Definition of Compliance Year

Find out what the compliance year means for attorneys licensed 3 or more years and for newly licensed attorneys, 1-3 years.

MCLE Exemptions

Full details about which categories are exempt from the 15-hour mandatory MCLE requirement.

MCLE Course Search

Find upcoming MCLE accredited activities or verify course numbers.

MCLE Rules

Information regarding MCLE Rules, Regulations, and Accreditation Standards..

Military Waiver

Find out if you are eligible for exemption from the mandatory MCLE requirement.

Guardianship Ad Litem

Get information about guardianship ad litem in probate course certification and renewal processing.

{Back to top}

Article Options

Skip Advertisement


Related Information

State Bar College

The State Bar College recognizes Texas lawyers who attend at least double the Continuing Legal Education (CLE) required by the State Bar of Texas.

Report Your MCLE Hours

Report your MCLE hours on My Bar Page.

Find a Colleague

Search below to find a lawyer near you.

Use our advanced search.