State Bar of Texas Dues Schedule

Texas lawyers must pay membership dues as follows:

  • Licensed less than 3 years = $68.00

  • Licensed 3-5 years = $148.00

  • Licensed more than 5 years = $235.00

  • Inactive Attorneys = $50.00

Dues and fees shall be payable on the 1st day of the State Bar's fiscal year (June 1).

How Late Penalties for Dues are Assessed

If admitted in Texas after December 1 of the current fiscal year, dues are pro-rated (50%).

If dues are received after August 31 of any fiscal year, the member is suspended and must pay a 50% penalty to reinstate their license.

If dues are received after November 30 of any fiscal year, the suspended member must pay a 100% penalty to reinstate their license.

Contact Us with Questions About Your Dues

If you've read the details on this page and still have questions, please contact us.

We need your bar card number in order to assist you. In addition, we will ask for the last four digits of your SSN and your date of birth to verify your identity and ensure your privacy.



to (512) 427-1383

(512) 427-4424

Regular Mail

State Bar of Texas
Membership Dues
P.O. Box 12487
Austin, TX 78711

Express Mail

State Bar of Texas
Membership Dues
1414 Colorado St.
Austin, TX 78701

The purpose of the State Bar of Texas is to engage in those activities enumerated at §81.012 of the State Bar Act. The expenditure of funds by the State Bar of Texas is limited as set forth at §81.034 of the State Bar Act and in Keller v. State Bar of California, 496 U.S. 1 (1990), and McDonald v. Longley, 4 F.4th 229 (5th Cir. 2021). If any member has a reasonable belief that any actual or proposed expenditure is not within such purposes of, or limitations on, the State Bar, then such member may object thereto and seek a refund of a pro rata portion of his or her dues expended, plus interest, by filing a written objection with the Executive Director. The objection must be made in writing, on the official State Bar Fees Objection Form, addressed to the Executive Director of the State Bar, P.O. Box 12487, Austin, TX 78711, or by email to The objection must be submitted no later than 60 calendar days after the annual audit of the State Bar for the fiscal year in which the transaction objected to occurred is published on the State Bar website. A copy of the State Bar Fees Objection Form may be obtained by written or in person request to the Executive Director or from the State Bar website at


Upon receipt of a member's objection, the Executive Director shall within 60 calendar days review such objection together with the allocation of dues monies spent on the challenged activity and, in consultation with the President, shall have the discretion to resolve the objection, including refunding a pro rata portion of the member's dues, plus interest. If the objecting member contests the Executive Director's determination of the member's claim, the objecting member may, within 30 calendar days of notice of the Executive Director's determination, invoke the objection procedures set forth in Section 3.14 of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors Policy Manual, which include an opportunity for the objection to be decided by an impartial decisionmaker. Any refund of a pro rata share of the member's dues shall not be construed as an admission by the State Bar that the challenged activity was not or would not have been within the purposes of or limitations on the State Bar.

We use cookies to analyze our traffic and enhance functionality. More Information agree