State Bar of Texas Seal

2021 State Bar and TYLA Elections

State Bar of Texas President-elect 

The State Bar Board of Directors voted September 25 to approve Sara E. Dysart of San Antonio and Laura Gibson of Houston as candidates for 2021-2022 president-elect. The Nominations and Elections Subcommittee voted on September 1, 2020, to recommend Dysart and Gibson after interviewing nine potential nominees.

Read the press release here.

This year, the subcommittee considered candidates from metropolitan counties in the state, according to State Bar rules. 

Sara E. Dysart

Laura Gibson

For information on how to run for president-elect, go here.


To view open district director seats, go here.

Third Party Service Providers

Election Services Corp., or “ESC,” is the State Bar of Texas’ contracted service provider for election services. For more information about third party service providers used by the State Bar, click here.