State Bar of Texas
June 8, 2010

Contact: Kim Davey, kdavey@texasbar.com, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Austin Individuals and Organizations Honored by State Bar of Texas

FORT WORTH - Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 10-11 at the Fort Worth Convention Center.

The following Austin area individuals and organizations are among those being honored:

Thomas R. Phillips, (Ret.) Chief Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Outstanding Mentor Award, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA). Board certified in Civil Trial Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, Phillips now serves as a partner in the litigation section of Baker Botts' Austin office. A frequent panelist and author, Phillips has been recognized for his public service, leadership, and service to the profession. He mentored many first-year lawyers through judicial clerkships while at the Supreme Court and continues to mentor countless others in private practice. Among the lessons Phillips has imparted on young lawyers over the years are hard work, intellectual rigor, commitment to principle, and calm in the face of pressure and adversity. A colleague from the Supreme Court remarks, "The future of our profession lies in our young lawyers. Tom Phillips does all he can to make that future as bright as possible."

Kennon Peterson, a Presidential Citation for her service to the lawyers of Texas in assisting the Supreme Court of Texas and State Bar of Texas in listening, considering, and responding to the myriad of issues that have and will arise leading up to a vote on Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct, and for her commitment to the Rule of Law and service to others.

The Fowler Law Firm, W. Frank Newton Award, presented by the State Bar Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee. This award honors pro bono attorney groups and is named for W. Frank Newton, former dean of Texas Tech University School of Law and long time pro bono advocate. The 12-attorney Fowler Law Firm in 2009 donated $46,386 to scholarships and nonprofit organizations and provided 2,183 hours of pro bono representation to those who could not otherwise afford to pay for legal services, or nearly one full month of each attorney's time.

Joe Ramirez, administrative supervisor for Social Studies, AISD, Honorary Leon Jaworski Award for Teaching Excellence. The Jaworski Award is presented by the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors to recognize educators who have made an outstanding contribution to law focused education and whose programs foster understanding of the values of our legal and judicial systems.

Hon. Lora Livingston, Nancy L. Garms Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to law-focused education.

Clint Harbour, TYLA President's Award of Merit, presented by the Texas Young Lawyers Association.

Presentation of State Bar Section awards include:

James C. Harrington, Noble Award, presented by the Poverty Law Section. The Noble Award for Lifetime Achievements in Poverty Law honors a Texas attorney for a lifetime of public service in promoting poverty law as a noble profession, and significant lifetime professional accomplishments in expanding the provision of high quality legal services to poor people and protecting their legal rights.

Martha M. Beard-Duncan and Angela L. Lee, Impact Award, presented by the Poverty Law Section. This award honors Texas attorneys or poverty law professionals for significant legal relief which has a broad impact on the lives of poor people in Texas by protecting, promoting, expanding, or vindicating their legal rights.

Alicia Key of Dripping Springs, Ma'at Justice Award, presented by the Women and the Law Section to recognize and celebrate attorneys who have contributed to the furtherance of justice in our society.

Sarah R. Weddington, Civil Rights Award, presented by the Individual Rights & Responsibilities Section for superior contributions in defending Texans' civil rights and civil liberties.

Hon. James C. Ho, Justice David Wellington Chew Award, presented by the Asian Pacific Interest Section.

Richard "Dicky" Grigg, Luther H. Soules Award, presented by the Litigation Section.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.