State Bar of Texas
May 1, 2008

Contact: Kim Davey, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

Fort Worth Lawyer Roland Johnson Named President-elect of State Bar of Texas; El Paso Lawyer Cori Harbour to Lead TYLA

(Austin) – State Bar of Texas officials today announced that Roland Johnson of Fort Worth was elected by the state's lawyers to serve as president-elect. Cori Harbour of El Paso was elected president-elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA).

Roland K. Johnson
Roland K. Johnson practices with the Fort Worth firm of Harris, Finley & Bogle, P.C. as managing shareholder. He is board certified in civil trial law and practices primarily in the areas of commercial litigation, professional liability litigation, and arbitration.

Johnson has served as president of the Tarrant County Bar Association, on the State Bar board and as chair of the Professionalism Committee, and on the City of Fort Worth's Civil Service Commission. He currently serves on the board of directors of the Tarrant County Bar Foundation, Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism, Texas Legal Protection Plan, Center for Law and Renewal, the Day Resource Center, and the Baylor Alumni Association. He is an adjunct professor at Texas Wesleyan University School of Law and a member of the Dean's advisory council, president of the Eldon B. Mahon Inn of Court, and a sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation. Johnson is a member of the College of the State Bar of Texas, Texas Association of Mediators, American Law Institute, American Board of Trial Advocates, and the American Arbitration Association's Commercial and Large Complex Case Panels. He earned his B.S. and J.D. from Baylor University. The president-elect will serve as the president of the State Bar of Texas from June 2009 through May 2010.

Cori Harbour
Cori Harbour of The Harbour Law Firm, P.C. in El Paso currently serves as TYLA vice president and president-elect of the El Paso Bar Association. She is immediate past president of Planned Parenthood Center of El Paso, and has served as an instructor at the University of Texas at El Paso since 2002. Harbour has served on the TYLA Board of Directors since 2003 and was named El Paso's Outstanding Young Lawyer in 2001. She participates as a mentor in the Positive Role Model Program in El Paso. She is a fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation and the El Paso Bar Foundation. Harbour earned a B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin and a J.D. from the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University, and is licensed to practice law in Texas and New Mexico. The president-elect will serve as TYLA president from June 2009 through May 2010.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.