State Bar of Texas
June 23, 2009

Contact: Kim Davey, kdavey@texasbar.com, 800.204.2222 x 1713 or 512.427.1713

El Paso Individuals Honored by State Bar of Texas

DALLAS – Presentation of awards honoring exceptional service to the public and the legal profession will be a highlight of the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting, to be held June 25-26 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas.

The following El Paso individuals are among those being honored: Hector Beltran, a Presidential Citation for his participation in the inaugural class of LeadershipSBOT and dedication to the ideal of building a Texas legal community that reflects the demographics of the state.

Jeanne "Cezy" Collins, Sarah T. Hughes Award, presented by the Women and the Law Section. This award honors the accomplishments of women who have achieved outstanding recognition in their professional area and who, by doing so, have paved the way for success for other women attorneys.

Ed and Maria Hernández, Frank J. Scurlock Award, presented by the State Bar of Texas Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee, for their dedication to providing pro bono assistance to low-income people. Along with others, they helped bring a civil rights center to El Paso, the Paso Del Norte Civil Rights Project. They have volunteered as pro bono co-counsel and serve on the office's regional Council of Directors.

Mark Osborn, a Presidential Citation for exceptional dedication, strategic vision and development of State Bar technologies.

The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the Supreme Court of Texas that provides educational programs for the legal profession and the public, administers the minimum continuing legal education program for attorneys, and manages the attorney discipline system.

Media Note: Photos are available on request for most award winners.