State Bar of Texas
July 9, 2010

State Bar of Texas Honors Journalistic Excellence with Announcement of 2010 Texas Gavel Awards

AUSTIN – The State Bar of Texas today announced recipients of the 2010 Texas Gavel Awards honoring journalistic excellence that helps foster public understanding of the legal system. Recipients are:

Steve Thompson and Tanya Eiserer, The Dallas Morning News, "Dallas Crime Statistics"
Jeremy Roebuck and Jared Janes, The Monitor (McAllen), "Price of Justice"
Leslie Wilber, Victoria Advocate, "Does It Pass the Smell Test?"
Cindy V. Culp, Waco Tribune-Herald, "Measuring Justice"
David Schechter and Mark Smith, WFAA-TV (Dallas), "Deporting Justice"

Awards will be presented Friday, August 13, at the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas (FOIFT) annual conference in Austin.

The Texas Gavel Awards are sponsored by the State Bar of Texas Public Affairs Committee and judged by out-of-state journalists and editors, legal reporting experts, and members of academia.

Journalists play an important role in educating the public about the legal system and the annual Texas Gavel Awards honor those efforts.