Pro Bono Excellence Awards

The State Bar’s Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee is seeking nominations for the 2024 Pro Bono Excellence Awards. These awards recognize dedicated members of our legal professionals who are committed to providing legal services to the poor in Texas. Recipients of the Pro Bono Excellence Awards will be notified in May. These awards will be presented in June at the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting. To see a list of previous award winners, click here.


Frank J. Scurlock Award
J. Chrys Dougherty Legal Services Award
Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Judge Award
Pro Bono Award
Pro Bono Coordinator Award
W. Frank Newton Award
Pro Bono Support Staff Award

Please send your nomination packet to probono@texasbar.com.

The Texas Access to Justice Commission also recognizes exceptional pro bono service. Please visit the Texas Access to Justice Commission website to learn about its awards program.

For more information about these awards, contact the Legal Access Department at probono@texasbar.com (512) 427-1855.