For Lawyers

Definition of MCLE Credit

Every active State Bar of Texas member must complete a minimum of 15 hours of accredited CLE during each MCLE compliance year.

  • 12 of these hours must be in accredited CLE classes
  • 3 of these hours must be in legal ethics/legal professional responsibility
  • 3 of these hours, including 1 hour of legal ethics, could be in self study.

Accredited CLE

Accredited CLE credit is received by attending MCLE approved activities including live group presentations, live and pre-recorded online CLE and webinars and by reviewing approved downloadable CLE programs such as podcasts and programs recorded onto DVD and CD.

Currently, at least 12 hours of your 15-hour requirement for each compliance year must be in a form of accredited CLE.

There is a 3-hour minimum requirement for legal ethics/legal professional responsibility.

{Back to top}

Self-Study Credit

Self-study credit includes credit for any CLE activity performed by an individual attorney acting alone or while attending non-accredited professional education activities.

Self-study is optional and 3 of your total 15 hours can be completed in the form of self-study activities. There is a three-hour minimum requirement for legal ethics/legal professional responsibility. One hour of this minimum can be satisfied through self-study. The remaining credits must be completed through attendance at Accredited CLE activities.

{Back to top}

MCLE Requirements for Attorneys Serving a Disciplinary Suspension

All attorneys, whether active or suspended for disciplinary reasons, are required to comply with MCLE requirements. Read the details of this requirement. [PDF]

Law School Credit

Attorneys can receive up to thirty (30.00) hours per compliance year for in-person attendance at an American Bar Association (ABA) accredited law school after admission to practice. Credit is for actual hours of in-class instruction, not through electronic means. Please complete the Request for MCLE Credit for Attending Law School Classes form [PDF], include a transcript or grade report verifying completion of courses, and a $25 non-refundable fee.

Contact Us

If you cannot find what you are looking for after reading this section, please contact us.

Address

State Bar of Texas
MCLE Department
P.O. Box 13007
Austin, Texas 78711-3007

Email

mcle@texasbar.com

Phone

800.204.2222 (ext. 1806)
or 512.427.1806

Fax

512.427.4423

{Back to top}

Article Options

Skip Advertisement

Advertisement

Related Information

State Bar College

The State Bar College recognizes Texas lawyers who attend at least double the Continuing Legal Education (CLE) required by the State Bar of Texas.

Report Your MCLE Hours

Report your MCLE hours on My Bar Page.

Find a Colleague

Search below to find a lawyer near you.

Use our advanced search.