Texas Lawyers Auxiliary

The Texas Lawyers Auxiliary is dedicated to supporting the State Bar of Texas and the Texas legal profession while promoting an understanding and appreciation of the American legal system through law-related education, citizenship, and public service advocacy.


Membership is available as an affiliate, individual, and associate. Please join us! For more information, contact Membership VP, Martha Ann Franco, at mafrancotx@sbcglobal.net.

Calendar of Events

March 1-2, 2015
Texas Lawyers Auxiliary Spring Meeting

  • Sunday evening, March 1: Dinner at the Moonshine Grill, located at 303 Red River Street, at 7:00 p.m. It is Dutch treat. For those of you who would like to take the shuttle from the hotel, we will meet in the lobby at 6:30 p.m.
  • If you are staying at the DoubleTree, you can leave your car in their garage. Let Rita Thompson know if you need to park at the Texas Law Center, so she can inquire about a space.
  • Monday, March 2: We will meet at  9:00 a.m. for breakfast at the Texas Law Center. Meeting will be called to order at 9:30 a.m.
  • Auxiliary Officers, Committee Chairs, Directors-At-Large, and Affiliate Directors: If you are presenting a report, please bring 30 copies to distribute at the meeting. Also bring any news, articles, and pictures to the meeting for Rhonda Jefferson for the Spring issue of the TLA Newsletter.

Officers and Directors

2012-2013 TLA Executive Board2012-2013 TLA Executive Board

2013-2014 Executive Board of Directors

President - Kathy Redden
President-Elect - Rita Thompson (Mrs. Robert S.)
VP Membership - Martha Ann Franco (Mrs. John R.)
VP Communication - Rhonda Jefferson
VP Convention - Joette Reger (Mrs. Gary) and Jennifer Benesh (Mrs. Stephen)
VP Projects - June McManus
Recording Secretary - Patricia Adams
Corresponding Secretary - Jan Lamoreaux (Mrs. Bill)
Treasurer - Tina Gwinn (Mrs. Stephen W.)
Parliamentarian - Melissa Richard
Immediate Past President - Lucy Harrison (Mrs. Guy N.)

2013-2014 Directors at Large 

Lisa M. Tatum, President of the State Bar Of Texas - San Antonio
Kristy Piazza Blanchard, President of the Texas Young Lawyers Association - Plano
Mona Blocker Garcia - Marfa
Earlene Garland - Lubbock
Diane Kyker - Austin
Nancy Relyea - Dallas
Lana Wilson - Austin

2013-2014 Standing Committee Chairs 
Advisory Committee Chair - Sue Bennett
Advisory Committee Member - Grace Ann Vanderpool
Advisory Committee Member - Lucy Harrison
Advisory Committee Member - Joette Reger
American Lawyers Alliance Liaison - Mary Ellen Borgelt
Awards - Grace Ann Vanderpool
Bylaws - Jane Larkin
Archives - Anne Maxwell
Celebrations and Smiles - Janey Pettiette
Finance, Permanent Advisor - Judy Troy
Finance Vice Chair - Tina Gwinn
Future Planning - Lucy Harrison
History and Traditions - Mary Ellen Borgelt
Law Focused Education - Stephanie Whitehurst
Memorials, Tributes and Scholarship Fund - Jaquie Rothermel
Nominating Committee - Lucy Harrison
Now You Are 18 - Marianne Gwin
Operations Co-Chair - Jennifer Benesh
Operations Co-Chair - Nicky Duewall
Yearbook - Martha Ann Franco
Your Legal Rights - Carolyn Clark
Website - Joette Reger

Teacher of the Year Award

2011 TOY Winner Patience LeBlanc2011 Teacher of the Year Award Winner, Patience LeBlanc

This award honors public and private high school teachers in Texas who have made significant contributions in law-related education, developing and supporting programs which enhance awareness of legal rights and the American legal system. Candidates may be nominated by teachers or principals. The 2013 entry deadline is June 15, 2013. Download the application. If you have questions, please contact: Rita (Mrs. Robert S.) Thompson, thompsonr234@aol.com.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes a member who, over an extended period of time, has shown exemplary dedication to the Texas Lawyers' Auxiliary by accepting positions of leadership and objectives, continuing support of the Texas Lawyers' Auxiliary, displaying an attitude that encourages an interchange of ideas, communicating the objectives of TLA, and encouraging its programs on a local and state level. The 2014 entry deadline is March 3, 2014. Download the requirements.


Local Lawyers' Auxiliaries and Affiliate Directors

Austin Lawyers' Auxiliary

Anne Winckler, President

Austin Bar AuxiliaryNicky Duewall, Vice President-Scholarship, Scholarship Recipient Louisa Gambrill, Treasurer, Anne Winckler, and Linda Richards, Austin Bar Auxiliary President

Austin Lawyer’s Auxiliary Event Sept. 17, 2014 [PDF]

Dallas Lawyers' Auxiliary

Pam Musgrove, President, Dallas Lawyers' Auxiliary

Houston Bar Association Auxiliary

Annette Duggan (Mrs. Lee)
Sherryl Durkee, Vice President/TLA Representative

Read the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary Spring 2012 newsletter.

Houston Bar Association Auxiliary2012-2013 Executive Board

Jefferson County Bar Auxiliary

Joette Reger (Mrs. Gary)

San Antonio Bar Auxiliary

Jaquie Rothermel (Mrs. John F.)

Waco McLennan County

Frances Olsen (Mrs. Landon)
Dorothy Bates (Mrs. John L., Jr.)


{Back to top}