Pro Bono Awards

Each year, the State Bar's Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee seeks nominations for the Pro Bono Excellence Awards. The State Bar's Pro Bono Excellence Awards recognize dedicated members of our legal profession who are committed to providing legal services to the poor in Texas.

Nominations for the 2014 awards are due on February 28, 2014.

Attorneys are in a unique position to help those who cannot afford access to the legal system. The State Bar of Texas seeks nominations of deserving individuals, groups and entities that perform exceptional work in the field of legal services to the poor. Recipients of the Pro Bono Excellence Awards will be notified in May. These awards will be presented at the State Bar Annual Meeting in Austin in June.

Award nomination forms and supporting materials must be received on or before Friday, February 28, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. Nomination packets may be sent by mail or e-mail.

Each attorney nominee must be a member in good standing with the State Bar of Texas.

Additional materials such as news stories, magazine articles, or other appropriate commentaries may be included with a nomination. However, please limit each nomination to 10 pages, including supporting materials and the Award Nomination Form. Please do not submit videotapes or tape recordings.

Nomination Forms [PDF Format]

Frank J. Scurlock Award
J. Chrys Dougherty Legal Services Award
Judge Merrill Hartman Pro Bono Judge Award
Pro Bono Award
Pro Bono Coordinator Award
W. Frank Newton Award

Please send your nomination packet to:

Legal Services to the Poor in Civil Matters Committee
c/o Legal Access Division
State Bar of Texas
1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin TX 78701-1627

-or via email to-


For more information about these awards, contact Legal Access Division at probono@texasbar.com or 800-204-2222, ext. 1855.

The Texas Access to Justice Commission also recognizes exceptional pro bono service. Please visit the Texas Access to Justice Commission website to learn about its awards program.